Photo of Cr Mark Booth and daughter Cleo, members of the Mayor's XI team
Group Photo of Moreton Bay BATS and Morton Bay City Mayor's XI
Morton Bay BATS All-Ability Team – Ian Healy, Terry Young, Karen Carter,Michael Wallis, Charlotte Wallis, Charlie Hughes, Kathy McTrusty, Dave Coats, Paul Szep ©, Osdie McTrusty, Danyil Szep, Paul Osmac, Shai Mayberry, Kayden Svenson
Moreton Bay City Mayor’s XI – Peter Flannery ©, Cr Adam Hain, Ben Hain, Cr Mark Booth, Cleo Booth, Cr Cath Tonks, Cr Yvonne Barlow, Lachlan Crane , Cr Tony Latter, Cr Matt Constance, Cindy Madison, Andrew Trinh

The Annual Mayor’s XI Beep Cricket Match was held on 5 November 2023

Below is a report posted on Facebook by Cr Mark Booth, a member of the Mayor’s XI Team

Today I had the pleasure of my Daughter joining me on the Mayor’s XI team for the “City of Moreton Bay Shield” Cricket Match what the May’s XI taking on the “Bats Sport Club” vision Impaired and All-Abilityteam using their award winning “Beep” Cricket Ball.

This ball is an absolute game changer for vision impaired aspiring cricketers. The ball beeps as it flies through the air allowing an equal playing field. The game rules are slightly modified and inclusive for all abilities making it the only sport in the world where players can play together without disability classes making it a truly inclusive sport.

Unfortunately the Mayors XI went down for the 2nd year in a row 93 runs to 43 runs but there’s always next year!

Thanks to all the players for making it such a fun experience including Terry Young MP and Australian Cricket Royalty and owner of Hoppy’s Carwwash Ian Healy who were on the winning Bats team as well as Mayor Peter Flannery, Councillor Yvonne Barlow, Councillor Matt Constance, Councillor Cath Tonks, Councillor Tony Latter, Councillor Adam Hain, and Council Staff who mad up the Mayor’s XI. 🏏

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these <abbr title="HyperText Markup Language">HTML</abbr> tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>